Governing Board

Composition of Governing Board

(Section 11 of K.F.Act)

  1. A Chairperson, who shall be a person of high eminence in public life, to be appointed by the Central Government;
  2. Not more than 12 members to be nominated by the Central Government from amongst persons who-
    1. have rendered valuable service to Kalakshetra;
    2. Have been connected with, or have knowledge of art, culture, folk arts and crafts;
    3. are eminent artistes; and
    4. are patrons of art and culture
  3. Two persons possessing one or more of the qualifications referred to in sub-clauses (i) to (iv) of clause (b) to be nominated by the State Government.
  4. Two officers of the Central Government, not below the rank of a Deputy Secretary, to be nominated by that Government to represent the Ministry of the Central Government dealing with culture, ex officio
  5. One officer of the State Government, not below the rank of Joint Secretary, to be nominated by that Government, to represent the Department of Education of that Government, ex-officio,
  6. The Director, ex officio

Current composition of Governing Board

  1. Shri S. Ramadorai – Chairman
  2. Members nominated by the Central Govt. under Section 11(b):
    1. Vid. Shri Anooru Anantha Krishna Sharma
    2. Shri C.K. Balagopalan
    3. Smt Chitra Visweswaran
    4. Vid. Shri Lalgudi G.J.R. Krishnan
    5. Smt Malavika Avinash
    6. Smt Ranjana Gauhar
    7. Smt. Saswati Sen
    8. Dr. Shri Shreekantham Nagendra Shastry
    9. Dr. Smt. Urmila Sathyanarayanan
    10. Vid. Shri Vijay Siva
  3. Not yet nominated
  4. Officers nominated by Ministry of Culture on meeting-to-meeting basis
  5. Shri Apurva Varma, Additional Chief Secretary to Government of Tamil Nadu
  6. Smt. Revathi Ramachandran, Director, KF